LibGuides: Find: Images

Images

The use of images is required in some assessments. These may include: diagrams, charts, photographs, artworks, or illustrations. Any use of images in assessments must be referenced. You can find detailed referencing information here

Animation World Network The Animation World Network is animation-related publishing group on the Internet, providing readers from over 151 countries with a wide range of interesting, relevant and helpful information pertaining to all aspects of animation.
British Pathé Newsreels Archive of 85,000 newsreels free to view online at the British Pathé website or on YouTube. Pathé News was a producer of newsreels and documentaries in the UK. Spanning 1896 to 1978, the video collection includes footage of major events around the globe, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture. YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/britishpathe/
Concept Art Empire Concept Art Empire is to share helpful tips, quality info, and valuable resources for artists who love entertainment art. This is a website for all artists of all skill levels, mediums, and creative pursuits.
Creative Cow Community dedicated to supporting professionals working in film, video, and audio.
Digital Art Museum (DAM) Digital Art Museum DAM is an online resource for the history and practice of digital fine art supported by a wide range of background information including biographies, articles, a bibliography and interviews. DAM also includes an Essays section with articles by artists and theorists specially selected to place the works in context.
Digital Games Research Association digital library DiGRA is the association for academics and professionals who research digital games and associated phenomena. It encourages high-quality research on games, and promotes collaboration and dissemination of work by its members.
Frieze Website of the international contemporary art magazine, Frieze, offers features, exhibition reviews, essays and new artists. Also virtual viewing rooms of their art fair when open.
Google Art Project An online platform through which the public can view high-resolution images and videos of artworks from partner cultural organizations throughout the world. Partners include, MoMA NY, TATE UK, Guggenheim, Biennale of Sydney, Serpentine Galleries, London, and hundreds more. The platform includes advanced search capabilities and you can browse Art Movements, Artists, Mediums and Places.
Google Street Art A living archive which collects maps and photographs street art before it can disappear.
International Journal for Digital Art History The annual peer reviewed journal seeks to gather current developments in the field of Digital Art History world-wide and to foster discourse on the subject both from Art History and Information Science.
Loading... The free academic journal of the Canadian Game Studies Association which studies videogames. The journal provides immediate open access to its content but will sometimes require you to login with a username and password.
Netdiver A links page for new media art and artists, graphic designers, illustrators and photographers, netdiver calls itself a "design + digital culture magazine that uncovers, reviews and publishes outstanding work by the international design community"
NYPL Digital Collections - New York Public Library Provides access to over 275000 images digitized from the library collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and more.
Screen Skills UK ScreenSkills is the industry-led skills body for the screen industries – film, television (including children's, unscripted and high-end), VFX (visual effects), animation and games.
Visual Effects Society The Visual Effects Society (VES) is a global professional honorary society and the entertainment industry’s only organization representing the full breadth of visual effects practitioners.
Webopedia Online Computer Dictionary for Computer and Internet Terms and Definitions The Online Tech Dictionary for Students, Educators and IT Professionals.
WIRED The leading, mass market consumer magazine devoted to the new communication technologies and the digital revolution.

Design is History

Images demonstrating where design came from, how it developed, and who shaped its evolution.

Luna Commons - Public Collections

16 digital image collections, including maps, books and even gravestones.

Old Maps Online

Discover the cartography of the past.

Digital Art Museum (DAM)

An online resource for the history and practice of digital fine art.

Information is Beautiful

Data, information, knowledge: distilled into beautiful, useful graphics & diagrams.

Louvre Collections

The Collections database consists of entries for more than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix.

MAAS Collection

The Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences collection.

Historical Anatomies

Images from anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine's collection.

New Old Stock

Vintage photos from the public archives. Free of known copyright restrictions.

Some of the resources listed here are for information, some are to use in projects and are copyright-free, and some are subscriber-based where creatives can either purchase images or upload to promote or sell their works.

BBC Motion Gallery Video Collection
Comprehensive collection of distinctive, high quality motion imagery.
Creative Commons Database
A tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone.
Digital Games Research Association digital library
The association for academics and professionals who research digital games and associated phenomena.
Envato
Over 9 million digital products created by a global community of designers, developers, photographers, illustrators & producers.
Pexels
All photos and videos on Pexels are free to use. Attribution is not required.
Pond5
Over 25 million royalty-free stock videos, plus music, photos, and sound effects.
Production Crate - Creative Assets
Collections of VFX & Motion Graphics, SFX & Music, and Graphics & Textures.
Smithsonian Open Access
More than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from the collections.
VADS
A national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK.

Find

Quicklinks

Images