Skip to Main Content

APA 7th ed. - Referencing Tool

Referencing - Journal Articles

Journal articles with One author

The following applies for both online journals, and print journals.

  • -All volume and/or issue details are to be provided in the reference list as they appear in the publication. Journal article titles are in "sentence case". Only provide a volume number and issue number if there is one. Some journals will only have a volume number, some may have issue number only and some may have season or month listed, which ever is listed is used.
  • -The URL or DOI must be included if available
  • -Open-access article - use the link to the article web page 
  • -Library-subscribed e-journals- include a link to the article within the library database

Print journal article

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range.

Electronic journal article

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range. https://doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR URL to the article OR link to article in library database

In text example

 Reference list example

 

 (Wilkinson, 2018, p.35)

 
 

 
 (MacPherson, 2014, p.304)

 

 

 

 

(O'Reilly-Knapp, pp. 53-55)

 
 

Print example:

Wilkinson, J. (2018). The internet as a research and information tool for health. Canadian Journal of Physiology, 6(2), 34-45.

E-journal in library database example:

MacPherson, H. (2014). Acupuncture for depression: State of the evidence. Acupuncture in Medicine, 32(4), 304-305.  https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=cul&AN=97459329&site=ehost-live&custid=ns251549

 Open-access example:

O'Reilly-Knapp, M. (2016). Integrative psychotherapy 'revisited'. International Journal of Integrative Psychotherapy. 7, 49-59. http://www.integrative-journal.com/index.php/ijip/article/view/126/79

 
   

 

 

 

Journal articles with Two authors

The following applies for both online journals, and print journals.

  • -All volume and or issue details are to be provided in the reference list as they appear in the publication. Journal article titles are in sentence case. You only give a volume number and issue number if there is one. Some journals will only have a volume number, some may have issue number only and some may have season or month listed, which ever is listed is used.
  • -The URL or DOI must be included if available
  • -Open-access article - use the link to the article web page 
  • -Library-subscribed e-journals- include a link to the article within the library database

Print Journal article

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range.

 Electronic journal article
Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range. https://doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR URL to the article OR URL to article in library database

 

In text example

 Reference list example

 In-text citation (paraphrase or direct quotation): 

(Matthys & Funk, 2008, p.45)

Matthys and Funk (2008, p. 45) found ….

 

 

(Kaplan & Haenlein, 2019, p. 17)

 

 

 

 

(Stoilov & Stoilova, 2022, pp. 6-8)

 
 

 

 Print example:

Matthys, H., & Funk, P. (2008). EPs 7630 improves acute bronchitic symptoms and shortens time to remission. Results of a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicentre trial. Planta Medica. 74(6), 686-692.

  Open access example:

​Kaplan, A., & Haenlein, M. (2019). Siri, Siri, in my hand: Who’s the fairest in the land? On the interpretations, illustrations, and implications of artificial intelligence. Business Horizons, 62(1), 15-25. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bushor.2018.08.004 

  E-journal in library database example:

Stoilov,T., & Stoilova, K. (2022). An algorithm for business management based on portfolio optimization. Mathematics, 10(22), 1-19. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=asn&AN=160463980&site=ehost-live&custid=ns251549

Journal articles with Three to twenty authors

The following applies for both online journals, and print journals.

  •  -All volume and or issue details are to be provided in the reference list as they appear in the publication. Journal article titles are in sentence case. You only give a volume number and issue number if there is one. Some journals will only have a volume number, some may have issue number only and some may have season or month listed, which ever is listed is used.
  • -In the case of three to twenty authors, the in-text reference should list the name of the first author followed by 'et al. (meaning ‘and others’)
  • -All authors’ names are to be provided in the order in which they appear in the publication. Do not rearrange them alphabetically.
  • -Put a comma and an ampersand before the final author.
  • -The UR or DOI must be included if available,
  • -Open-access article - use the link to the article web page 
  • -Library-subscribed e-journals- include a link to the article within the library database

Print Journal

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range.

Online Journal

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range. https://doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR URL of journal home page OR URL of article in library database

In text example

 Reference list example

 In-text citation (paraphrase or direct quotation): 

(Hashmi et al., 2012, p. 2393)

 

 

 

(Rusic et al., 2021)

 

 

 

 

(Hogue et al., 2021, pp. 655-656)
 

 

 

 

 Print example:

Hashmi, J., Baria, A., Baliki, M., Huang, L., Schnitzer, T., & Apkarian, A. (2012). Brain networks predicting placebo analgesia in a clinical trial for chronic back pain. Pain, 153(12), 2393-2402.

 DOI example:

Rusic, D., Vilovic, M., Bukic, J., Leskur, D., Seselja Perisin, A., Kumric, M., Martinovic, D., Petric, A., Modun, D., Bozic, J., & Aurilio, C. (2021). Implications of COVID-19 pandemic on the emergence of antimicrobial resistance: Adjusting the response to future outbreaks. Life, 11(3), 220. https://doi.org/10.3390/life11030220

E-journal in library database example:

Hogue, C., Fry, M., & Fry, A. (2021). The protective impact of learning to juggle in a caring, task-involving climate versus and ego-involving climate on participants' inflammation, cortisol, and psychological responses. International Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology, 19(4), 650-667. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=s3h&AN=152511817&site=ehost-live&custid=ns251549

Journal articles with more than Twenty authors

The following applies for both online journals, and print journals.

  • - All volume and or issue details are to be provided in the reference list as they appear in the publication. Journal article titles are in sentence case. You only give a volume number and issue number if there is one. Some journals will only have a volume number, some may have issue number only and some may have season or month listed, which ever is listed is used.
  • - In the case of more than twenty authors, the in-text reference should list the name of the first author followed by 'et al. (meaning ‘and others’)
  • - If an article has more than twenty authors, list the names of the first nineteen authors followed by ... and then the last author's name in the reference entry.
  • - All authors’ names are to be provided in the order in which they appear in the publication. Do not rearrange them alphabetically.
  • - The URL or DOI must be included if available
  • - Open-access article - use the link to the article web page 
  • Library-subscribed e-journals- include a link to the article within the library database

In text example

 Reference list example

 In-text citation (paraphrase or direct quotation): 

(Bikdeli et al., 2020, p. 1004). 

 
(Author Surname et al., Year, page number).
     
 

DOI example:

Bikdeli, B., Madhavan, M. V., Gupta, A., Jimenez, D., Burton, J. R., Der Nigoghossian, C., Chuich, T., Nouri, S. N., Dreyfus, I., Driggin, E., Sethi, S., Sehgal, K., Chatterjee, S., Ageno, W., Madjid, M., Guo, Y., Tang, L. V., Hu, Y., Bertoletti, L., Giri, J., … Global COVID-19 Thrombosis Collaborative Group (2020). Pharmacological Agents Targeting Thromboinflammation in COVID-19: Review and Implications for Future Research. Thrombosis and haemostasis, 120(7), 1004–1024. https://doi.org/10.1055/s-0040-1713152

Secondary sources

The following applies for both online journals, and print journals.

  • - There may be times when you wish to cite information that another author has cited, and you have not been able to find the original source. 
  • - As you have not read the original work, you will only include the source that you did read in your Reference List. 
  • - The in-text citation needs to include the author/s of the original research followed by the phrase "as cited in", before providing the citation of the text that was actually consulted.
  • - Use secondary references sparingly, e.g. when the original text is not accessible.

In text example

 Reference list example

 In-text citation (paraphrase or direct quotation): 

(Ertmer et al., 2012, as cited in ​​Gülbahar et al., 2017, p. 25)​ 

 

Secondary source example:

Gülbahar, Y., Rapp, C., Kilis, S., & Sitnikova, A. (2017). Education with social media: Development and evaluation of a social media toolkit. International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning, 18(1), 23-39. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=eue&AN=121515860&site=ehost-live&custid=ns251549